Let the others argue about the state line. At UMKC, we believe we're all Kansas Citians. That's why UMKC welcomes students from Kansas City metro-area counties with in-state tuition.

Undergraduate and graduate students in eligible programs* from these Kansas counties pay the same tuition rates as Missouri residents:

  • Atchison
  • Douglas
  • Franklin
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Johnson
  • Leavenworth
  • Miami
  • Osage
  • Shawnee
  • Wyandotte

And, UMKC is the only Kansas City university to be named a Princeton Review “Best Value College.” Find out for yourself. Schedule a visit or apply to UMKC.

* Students pursuing majors or professional programs in the School of Dentistry, School of Law, School of Medicine or the School of Pharmacy are not eligible for the Metro Rate.

UMKC Admissions:
Administrative Center
Room 120
5115 Oak St.
Kansas City, MO 64112