MENU

Emeritus College

EC Home 

Emeritus College Board Members

Dean
Bibie Chronwall Founding Dean EmeritusCollege@umkc.edu
Emeriti Board Members
Charles Cobb Initial Board CobbC@umkc.edu
Linda Edwards Initial Board EdwardsLi@umkc.edu
Nancy Mills Initial Board MillsN@umkc.edu
Charles Wurrey Initial Board WurreyC@umkc.edu
Jakob Waterborg Webmaster WaterborgJ@umkc.edu
Betsy Beasley Member 2016 BeasleyM@umkc.edu
Linda Voigts Member 2017 VoigtsL@umkc.edu
Representative Board Members
  FaCET  
Nancy Mills UMKCRA MillsN@umkc.edu
Bonnie Postlethwaite University Libraries PostlethwaiteB@umkc.edu
Denis Medeiros Provost Liaison MedeirosD@umkc.edu
Linda Mitchell Faculty Senate 2016 MitchellLi@umkc.edu


Role of the Emeritus College Board
  • The Board provides input into activities of the College, membership, allocation of resources and programming.
  • The Initial Board assists the dean in implementing the Emeritus College.
  • Members of the Board chair the various committees established such as
      bylaws development,
      communications, and
      programming.

The Bylaws specify that the Board shall consist of not more than 14 members; shall be selected from as many academic units as possible; shall include key constituents such as the Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching (FaCET), Miller Nichols Library, Cockefair Chair, and UMKC Retirees Association (UMKCRA); shall include ex-officio members of the Women's Center, Office of the Provost, and the UMKC Faculty Senate; shall be drawn from the membership of the UMKC-EC; and shall be appointed by the dean.

Members serve a 2 year term and may be re-appointed to a second 2-year term. To facilitate continuity, the terms of the original members shall overlap; the Dean shall establish initial staggered terms of service.
In case of a vacancy on the Board, the Dean shall appoint a substitute to fill out the term. The substitute would remain eligible for appointment to a full term.

The initial EC Board was appointed by the Provost, Fall 2013.