American Institute of Architects elects AUPD chair to fellowship

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recently named Joy Swallow - chair of the University of Missouri-Kansas City College of Arts and Sciences' Department of Architecture, Urban Planning + Design (AUP+D) - a 2011 AIA Fellow. To read the AIA's official announcement, visit

The Fellowship program was developed to elevate architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

The 2011 Jury of Fellows from the AIA elevated 104 AIA members to its prestigious College of Fellows. Out of a total AIA membership of more than 80,000, fewer than 2,700 members have received this honor.

The 2011 Fellows will be honored on May 13 at an investiture ceremony at the 2011 National AIA Convention and Design Exposition in New Orleans.



Bookmark and Share