'The Campaign for UMKC' Honorary Chair Henry Bloch.

UMKC announces seven-year, $250 million 'The Campaign for UMKC'

This is the Time. This is the Place. The Moment is Now!

The University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) and the UMKC Foundation  announced the official launch of "The Campaign for UMKC" - the public stage of a seven-year, $250 million capital campaign. The announcement was made at a special campaign launch event at the Kansas City Club on Wednesday, Nov. 9.

"In a city that is first-rate, UMKC must be the academic cornerstone," said UMKC Chancellor Leo E. Morton. "Campaign funds will help with the ongoing transformation of UMKC and further the measures in our strategic plan."

Punctuating the announcement was the revelation of a $6 million pledge from Thomas D. Hyde and Vina W. Hyde to support the Chancellor’s Fund for Excellence. This is the fourth largest gift to the University. The future funds are unrestricted and can be used for the University’s most compelling needs or for hiring, retaining or rewarding stellar faculty – among other uses.

The Campaign for UMKC will help the University empower students to achieve by providing additional need- and merit-based scholarships; attract and retain outstanding faculty by offering competitive endowed faculty positions; develop and expand our world-class programs, including the Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation and the Urban Education Research Center; and create facilities that foster learning in our students, such as the Center for Translational Research in Urban Health, the Law Advocacy Center and the chemistry labs.

Retired H&R Block Chairman Henry Bloch will serve as the Honorary Chair of the Steering Committee, with Thomas and Vina Hyde and Robert and Ann Regnier serving as co-chairs.

At the Campaign Launch last night, in additon to the Hydes' gift, there were several other new gifts announced, including:

  • Bill and Irma Lou Hirsch provided $100,000 for a scholarship to support four students per year in the UMKC School of Nursing's online RN-BSN program.
  • Dr. Marjorie Sirridge made a gift of $125,000 to advance and sustain the contributions that the Sirridge Office of Medical Humanities and Bioethics makes to the medical education of UMKC physicians.
  • Dr. Linda Hood Talbott has pledged $250,000 in current and planned gifts to establish the Linda H. and Thomas H. Talbott Scholarship and Leadership Award to assist outstanding student leaders in the College of Arts and Sciences. In addition, they support the Conservatory of Music and Dance, the Bloch School of Management, the School of Education, the Theatre Department and the Kansas City Repertory Theatre.

These gifts take the total fundraising to date to $100,030,984.

The UMKC Foundation is an independent, non-profit organization serving as the official fundraising and fundraising management organization for UMKC. For more information about the UMKC Foundation and The Campaign for UMKC, visit

UMKC Chancellor Leo Morton.


Related News Releases

In the News

Bookmark and Share


Recent Features

> College Town. City Life.

> The Four Things You Need to Know to Help Resolve the Gender Wage Gap

> College Town. City Life.

> Abused Journalist Finds Hope in Kansas City

Feature Archives:
2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

Search archives by keyword:

"As we embark on this campaign -- as a University, as individuals and as Kansas Citians -- we realize our entire region is supported through the quality of education that UMKC offers."

Chancellor Leo E. Morton

Thomas and Vina Hyde, co-chairs of 'The Campaign for UMKC' Steering Committee.


Robert Regnier, co-chair with wife Ann (not pictured) of 'The Campaign for UMKC' Steering Committee.


Alan Atterbury, Chairman of the UMKC Foundation.
               -photography by Bob Greenspan

Special Thanks to
The Campaign for UMKC
Steering Committee:

  • Henry Bloch, Honorary Chair

  • Thomas and Vina Hyde, Co-chairs

  • Robert and Ann Regnier, Co-chairs

  • Alan and Mary Atterbury

  • Ken Baum and Ann Kaufmann Baum

  • Tom and Mary Bloch

  • Kay Callison

  • Newt Campbell

  • James Duderstadt

  • Terry and Peggy Dunn

  • Irma Lou Hirsch

  • Linda Hood Talbott

  • Natalie “Nikki” Krawitz

  • Lora Lacey-Haun

  • Rocky Levell

  • Nancy Mills

  • Leo Morton

  • Annette Quick

  • John and Marny Sherman

  • Betsey and Rick Solberg

  • Charlie and Jeanne Sosland

  • Chuck Squire

  • Mel Tyler

  • Ray Wagner

  • Hugh and Eulalie Zimmer