Mar 23, 2012    #038
Contact: John Austin

UMKC named Student Chapter of the Year by American Pharmacists Association

Award presented at APhA national meeting in New Orleans

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy student chapter of the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) has been named the National Student Chapter of the Year for 2010-11. Each year, the award is given to one of the 127 APhA-ASP chapters across the nation based on originality of programs, number of chapter members involved, impact on the community, benefit to student pharmacists and collaboration with other healthcare organizations. The award was announced during the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in New Orleans earlier this month.

Following are just a few of the activities and accomplishments that the UMKC APhA-ASP chapter was recognized for:

  • The chapter was recognized for their efforts in the national "Winter is Cold, but Advocacy is Hot" campaign to raise funds for the APhA Political Action Committee. The UMKC chapter was one of the top five schools in the nation to be recognized for their professional advocacy.
  • The chapter was awarded the Region 6 2011 Operation Immunization Award for their advocacy and patient education efforts in promoting the importance of immunizations.
  • The School of Pharmacy also received the APhA Immunization Champion Award in the Partnership category for its collaborations with diverse local partners to improve immunization rates in Missouri, expand opportunities for students to participate in the immunization process and advance the profession.
  • Two UMKC School of Pharmacy students were recognized for their APhA-ASP service at the national level. Sarah Riley and Ashley Capps served as Member-at-large and Speaker of the House, respectively.
  • Two UMKC School of Pharmacy students also were recognized with individual awards. Anne Stegeman was awarded one of the 12 national APhA Foundation Scholarships. Danielle Nagel was one of five students in the nation to be awarded the One to One Patient Counseling Award.

"I am so proud of our APhA-ASP Chapter for demonstrating what a group of outstanding student pharmacists and faculty advisors from Kansas City and Columbia can do to have such a huge impact on the community and the state," said Russell Melchert, Ph.D., dean of the UMKC School of Pharmacy. "What our students have achieved is equivalent to winning a national championship in NCAA athletics, yet it is work that will leave an everlasting impact on the health and well-being of Missourians across the state, from those who suffered the storm devastation in Joplin to the underserved in the Kansas City urban core."

About the UMKC School of Pharmacy

Founded in 1885, the UMKC School of Pharmacy is the only public school of pharmacy in the state of Missouri. The School offers professional practice (doctor of pharmacy-Pharm.D.), non-practice bachelors (B.S.) and graduate (M.S. and Ph.D.) degrees. The School of Pharmacy is committed to providing an atmosphere that promotes life-long learning by helping students develop both the knowledge and skills needed to be a pharmacy professional in an ever-changing health-care environment. For more information about the UMKC School of Pharmacy, visit You can also find the School of Pharmacy on Facebook and follow the School on Twitter.

About the University of Missouri-Kansas City

The University of Missouri-Kansas City, one of four University of Missouri campuses, is a public university serving more than 15,000 undergraduate, graduate and professional students. UMKC engages with the community and economy based on a four-part mission: life and health sciences; visual and performing arts; urban issues and education; and a vibrant learning and campus life experience. For more information about UMKC, visit You can also find us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and watch us on YouTube.

# # #

This information is available to people with speech or hearing impairments by calling Relay Missouri at (800) 735-2966 (TT) or (800) 735-2466 (voice).


Bookmark and Share