Nov 6, 2007    #140
Contact: Angela Turner

UMKC students awarded nationally competitive fellowships

Four University of Missouri-Kansas City students recently were awarded nationally competitive fellowships.

Philosophy graduate Josh Earlenbaugh has been awarded the Jacob Javits Fellowship. The award, administered by the U.S. Department of Education, provides up to four years of support that is renewable annually for graduate study. The support covers tuition and all fees and includes a personal stipend up to $30,000 depending upon financial need.

Earlenbaugh was named a Javits alternate earlier this spring and recently learned of his full appointment to the Fellowship. He will begin his doctoral studies in philosophy at the University of California-Davis this fall. His undergraduate record at UMKC included publishing, panel presentations and an active involvement with student and academic life. Upon acceptance at UC-Davis, he was awarded the most prestigious scholarship provided by that university to one incoming graduate student in any discipline.

Jessica Goldring has been awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student scholarship to Germany in drama. Goldring is one of more than 1,300 U.S. citizens who will travel abroad for the 2007-2008 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered by the Institute of International Education.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has provided approximately 279,500 people with the opportunity to observe each others' political, economic, educational and cultural institutions, to exchange ideas and to embark on joint ventures of importance to the general welfare of the world's inhabitants. The program operates in over 150 countries worldwide. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields.

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Sarah Peters, a history and music graduate, was one of 60 students nationwide to receive the $5,000 Phi Kappa Phi graduate fellowship. Sarah’s award arrived the same semester that UMKC’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter was revitalized after a period of inactivity. Peters will continue her studies at Ohio State University.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines. Its chapters are on nearly 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines. Each year, approximately 30,000 members are initiated.

Lastly, UMKC junior Dustin Jensen was one of 80 recipients nationwide to receive the Udall Scholarship. This is Jensen’s second time receiving the award. The scholarship provides $5,000 to students pursuing studies in environmental fields, including policy, engineering, science, education, urban planning and renewal, business, health, justice and economics.

Each of these recipients spend countless hours preparing their applications, a process supported by more than 30 different faculty members who wrote letters of support and sat on review committees.

The University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), one of four University of Missouri campuses, is a public university serving more than 14,000 undergraduate, graduate and professional students. UMKC engages with the community and economy based on a three-part mission: visual and performing arts, health sciences and urban engagement.


Bookmark and Share