Nov 14, 2008    #108
Contact: Laura Byerley

Scholarship Grants Awarded to Two UMKC Professors

Two University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) professors received Fulbright Scholar grants for the 2008-2009 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Kathy Maria Krause, an associate professor and director of the Department of Foreign Languages and Literature in the College of Arts and Sciences received a grant to research Female Lordship and Literary Production in Flanders, Belgium and Picardy, France in the 13th and Early 14th Centuries through the Catholic University of Louvain in Louvain-La-Neuve, Belgium.

Sidne Gail Ward, associate professor in the Department of Finance, Information Management and Strategy in the Henry W. Bloch School of Business and Public Administration received a grant to research and lecture about the Impact of Information Systems and e-Learning through Kathmandu University in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Krause and Ward are two of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

"Receiving a Fulbright award is a great honor for these faculty members. These types of international experiences are enriching for the faculty members and also for the students they mentor and their institution when they return. We congratulate our faculty for their significant accomplishments," said Gail Hackett, UMKC Provost.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange program, is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has provided about 286,500 people – 108,160 American and 178,340 international students, scholars and teachers – with the opportunity to observe each others’ political, economic, educational and cultural institutions, exchange ideas and embark on joint ventures of importance to the general welfare of the world’s inhabitants. The Program operates in more than 155 countries.

Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. Among the thousands of prominent Fulbright alumni are: Karen Vorst, Dean of the UMKC College of Arts & Sciences; Muhammad Yunus, Managing Director and Founder of Grameen Bank and recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2006; Javier Solana, Foreign Policy Chief, European Union; Ruth Simmons, President of Brown University; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board, Intel Corporation.

For more information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit

The University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), one of four University of Missouri campuses, is a public university serving more than 14,000 undergraduate, graduate and professional students. Celebrating 75 years, UMKC engages with the community and economy based on a four-part mission: life and health sciences; visual and performing arts; urban issues and education; and a vibrant learning and campus life experience.


This information is available to people with speech or hearing impairments by calling Relay Missouri at (800) 735-2966 (TT) or (800) 735-2466 (voice)


Bookmark and Share