Office of the Provost

University Budget Committee


The University Budget Committee was formed in 2006 and initially charged by then Chancellor Bailey with designing a form of Responsibility Center Budgeting for UMKC that minimally: gives academic units significantly more control over their finances; encourages them to generate new revenue for themselves and for the institution; and ensures that they keep a significant portion of the revenue that they generate. Phase-in of the budget model subsequently recommended by the Committee began in FYE 2009. The Committee, chaired by Provost Hackett, is currently charged by Chancellor Morton with continuing to make recommendations as the budget model is fully implemented, and with advising the Chancellor on resource allocation matters generally and on specific budget-related issues that arise from time to time.


Name Representation

Chair: Gail Hackett, Executive Vice Chancellor & Provost

Academic Affairs

Secretary: Anthony Luppino, Professor

School of Law

Betty M. Drees, Dean

School of Medicine

Lawrence Dreyfus, Dean

School of Biological Sciences

Gary Ebersole, Professor, History and Religious Studies; Chair, Faculty Senate

College of Arts and Sciences, Faculty Senate

Maureen Hannoun, Director, Sponsored Program Administration

Research Services, Staff Council

Carol Hintz, Associate Vice Chancellor

Human Resources

Michael Plamann, Associate Professor

School of Biological Sciences

Lanny Solomon, Associate Dean

Bloch School of Business and Administration, Faculty Senate

Kevin Truman, Dean

School of Computing and Engineering

Mel Tyler, Vice Chancellor

Student Affairs and Enrollment Management



Larry Bunce, Director, Institutional Research & Planning

Academic Affairs

Karen Wilkerson, Director, Planning & Budgeting

Administrative Services

Sharon Lindenbaum , Vice Chancellor Administration and Finance Services

Administrative Services

Archive Meeting Minutes

Budget Models