Chancellor's Advisory Board


The Chancellor’s Advisory Board to the Women’s Center (CABWC) performs in an advisory capacity to the Director of the UMKC Women’s Center. The Board was created in 1981 by Chancellor George Russell, resulting in both the Board’s name and its special relationship with the Chancellor. On behalf of and in support of the Chancellor, it advocates for women’s issues in conjunction with the University’s vision, values, and goals. Through a commitment to education and community in the broadest sense, the Chancellor’s Advisory Board to the Women’s Center promotes, supports, and empowers women and contributes to the transformation of the entire community.


Ms. S. Sloane Simmons, Board Chair

Co-Owner, STUFF (Brookside)

Ms. Andrea S. Wickerham, J.D., Immediate Past Chair

Vice President, National Center for Drug Free Sport, Inc.

Ms. Kristen Abell

Director, UMKC Residential Life

Ms. April Anne Adicks

Director of Resource Development, YouthFriends

Ms. Carolyn Baskett

Associate Vice Chancellor of Human Resources, Metropolitan Community Colleges

Mr. Shane Evans

Artist and Community Activist, Dream Studio

Ms. Rachel Hack

Community Manager -- Kansas City, Google

Dr. Andrea Hendricks

Senior Vice President of Diversity and Corporate Development, UMB Financial Corporation

Mr. Deth Im

Lead Pastor, Jacob’s Well

Dr. Patricia Kelly

Associate Dean for Research, UMKC School of Nursing

Ms. Kate Marshall

President of Better World

Dr. Arminda “Mindy” McCallum

Dean of Instruction, MCC Maple Woods

Dr. Denise Lloyd McDowell

Dean of Enrollment Management & Registrar, Kansas City Kansas Community College

Ms. Stephanie Mendenhall, J.D.

Associate Attorney, South & Associates

Ms. Kathy Nelson

President and CEO, Kansas City Sports Commission

Ms. Mahnaz Shabbir

President/CEO, Shabbir Advisors

Ms. Deborah Shouse

The Write Stuff / The Creativity Connection

Ms. S. Sloane Simmons

Co-Owner, Stuff (Brookside)

Mr. Bill Smith

Manager, UMKC Central

Dr. Kevin Truman

Dean, UMKC School of Computing & Engineering


“Position” Members

Ms. Nazgol Bagheri

I.Ph.D. Student, Geography/Sociology, UMKC

Ms. Linda Berube

American Association of University Women, Kansas City Chapter

Ms. Keichanda Dees-Burnett

Assistant Director UMKC Multicultural Student Affairs

Mr. Tim Hall

Director, UMKC Athletics

Ms. Kristin N. Huston

I.Ph.D. Student, English/History, UMKC

Ms. Amy Loughman

Assistant Director, UMKC Alumni & Constituent Relations

Mr. Kevin E. Masters (Violence Prevention and Response Task Force Liaison)

Deputy Chief / Investigations Bureau Commander, KCMO Police Department

Dr. Linda Mitchell

UMKC Martha Jane Phillips Starr Missouri Distinguished Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

My Women's Center

Looking for a way to get involved at the Women's Center? Start here!

Blog For Us!
Volunteer at the Women's Center!