UMKC Catalog


Prizes and Awards

Law School and Law Foundation

The Thomas E. Deacy Trial Lawyer Award

Endowed in the memory of Thomas E. Deacy Sr., an eminent trial lawyer, by his wife and son, Mrs. Thomas E. Deacy and Thomas E. Deacy Jr., the Deacy Award is presented annually to a third-year law student who demonstrates trial skills and attributes possessed by Thomas E. Deacy Sr.

The Jay B. and Frances Dillingham Public Service Award

An annual cash award is given to a student for participation in, or the study of, public service. Preference is given to students with strong ties to Clay or Platte County, Missouri.

Sanford B. Ladd Award

This fund provides an annual cash prize to the student earning the highest grade in Real Estate Finance.

Ralph S. Latshaw Award

An annual award of law books is given to a graduating student who has excelled in criminal law.

Law Alumni Association Harry S. Truman Leadership Award

This prestigious award is given annually to a graduating third-year student who exemplifies commitment to the legal profession; service; and leadership standards as set by the Law School's most famous alumnus, Harry S. Truman. A cash award and plaque are presented.

Law Alumni Association Charles E. Whittaker Award

The Law Alumni Association's Whittaker Award recognizes the outstanding third-year student who has advanced the intellectual life of the Law School. Both a cash award and plaque are presented.

Mdivani Immigration Law Scholarship Award

Mira Mdivani (Law 1999), a nationally-recognized attorney in the practice of immigration law, established this scholarship in honor of her father, Archil Mdivani, in 2006.  This scholarship is awarded each year to the winner of an essay contest. 

Annette Moore Award

An annual cash prize provided by this fund is given to the student earning the highest grade in Commercial Transactions.

Outstanding Academic Achievement Award

This award provides a certificate to the member of the third-year class who has achieved the highest cumulative grade-point average during three years of study.

Marvin and Patricia Rich Corporate Law Prize

A merit-based annual award which recognizes second-year UMKC law students of superior character, academic achievement and potential who plan to pursue a corporate legal specialty after graduation.

The Candler S. Rogers Writing Award

This award was endowed in memory of Candler S. Rogers, a former UMKC law professor, by a close personal friend and colleague. It recognizes Professor Rogers' long tenure as faculty adviser to the Law Review and his distinguished achievement in legal writing. It is given annually to the student who submits the most outstanding work of legal writing to the UMKC Law Review.

The John L. Sheridan Appellate Advocacy Awards

The Sheridan Awards were endowed by Norman O. Sanders in memory of his law partner, John L. Sheridan, a distinguished alumnus of the Law School. They are presented annually to students who have shown outstanding achievement in the Ellison Appellate Moot Court Competition.

Trial Practice Achievement Award

Endowed by contributions from classmates in memory of Terry T. Thomas, a Law School graduate, this award provides an annual cash amount and certificate to the student who has made the most significant progress in trial advocacy.

UMB Bank's Excellence in Estate Planning Award

An annual award, consisting of both a cash prize and plaque, is presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated an outstanding aptitude for estate planning and achieved an overall excellent academic record.

The UMKC Law Review Honor Award

Endowed by attorney Wilbur L. Pollard, this award is presented annually to the student who has rendered the greatest service to the UMKC Law Review.