UMKC Faculty Senate Tuesday, 2 April 2019, 3:00–5:00 PM Administration Center, Plaza Room Draft Minutes

<u>Present:</u> Stephen Dilks, Linda Mitchell, Jacob Marszalek, Viviana Grieco, Erik Olsen, Jim Wooten, Michelle Maher, Nancy Murdock, Sookhee Oh, Da-Ming Zhu, JoDee Davis, Deb Chatterjee, DeeAnna Hiett, Erin Blocher, Marilyn Taylor, Tara Allen, Samuel Bouyain, Ceki Halmen, Eric Gottman, Ellen Suni, Jamila Jefferson, Jenifer Allsworth, Amanda Grimes, Jamie Hunt, Mark Patterson, Hari Bhat, Mardi Mahaffy, Jen Salvo-Eaton, Sybil Wyatt, Justice Horn

Also present: Tom Mardikes, Scott Curtis, Dillon Henry, Susan Hankins

Excused: Greg Vonnahme, Jack Nelson

Absent: Anthony Shiu

I. Opening Business [10 minutes] (Dilks)

A. Call to Order

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Dilks at 3pm. Chairperson Dilks thanks the senators for their support during his time of bereavement.

B. Approval of Draft Agenda

The agenda for today's meeting is approved with no abstentions.

C. Approval of Minutes of March 19 Meeting

The Minutes for today's meeting are approved with no abstentions.

II. Results of Faculty Senate Executive Election Announced [15 minutes]

A. Introduction of Tom Mardikes and Johanna Nilsson

Tom Mardikes is introduced as the chair-elect and Johanna Nilsson as the new IFC rep replacing Viviana Grieco. Because the current Chair-elect is on leave, Tom Mardikes is currently serving as Chair-elect. In the event Chair-elect Kumar does not become Chair in the Fall, Chair-elect Mardikes will assume the Chair, Dilks will become past-Chair, and the Faculty Senate will have a new special election for chair elect.

III. Updates and Announcements [20 minutes] (FSEC)

Travel authorization: Deans will be working with the Provost to get rid of duplicate systems. An improved form will be available next week, April 2nd. Sharon Lindenbaum, Vice-Chancellor for Finance and Administration, is aware of dissatisfaction of faculty and staff with the current travel authorization system. Senators suggest that IT gets involved to improve the system. The danger is that the revised travel authorization policy has the potential to limit faculty and staff in traveling for research opportunities. This has a profound impact on mid-career faculty.

SGA Elections: The elections took place March 18th-22nd. Justice Horn is the new SGA President. The Library Referendum was passed, as well as the ASU lobbying group for Title IX. The Library

Referendum will go to the Board of Curators in the near future. Student participation in voting was 72%.

Name change: Ted White, the SBS Dean has stated that Chemistry will remain a department and not a division. CBB and MBB will become departments.

The Dean of Students has resigned effective immediately. The FSEC has suggested to the provost that the FSEC and other faculty should be on the search committee for a new Dean of Students. An announcement will be made in the future about the interim Dean of Students.

The All Faculty Meeting will take place April 18th. President Choi will present budget information and other updates from System. VP Pemberton will present on the HLC accreditation process. Registrar Doug Swink will present on enrolment. Other issues for discussion will be determined by Senators in a closed session.

During the FSBC meeting, Kelly Cox gave a presentation on the Academic Portfolio Review data. Program enrollment and retention was discussed as well as program prioritization. Senators express concerns, asking if program priorities will affect hiring in the future.

IV. Planning for All-Faculty Meeting and Discussion of Senate Concerns [60 minutes]

Please note that this part of the meeting will utilize Robert's Rules of Order to
facilitate participation. Vote on whether to conduct in executive session will precede
discussion. Please come prepared to discuss issues that concern you and propose
agenda items for All-Faculty meeting.

Closed Session

V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 5pm.