**Subject:** Announcement: Nominations Open for Faculty Senate, IFC, and University Faculty Committee on Tenure Positions

**Date:** Monday, March 11, 2024 at 10:24:10 AM Central Daylight Time

From: UMKC Faculty Senate Mailbox

**To:** UMKC Faculty FT Greetings colleagues,

We write to you to call for nominations for a few campus-wide and UM system positions that will be up for election in the next few weeks. All candidates must have six years of experience as Voting Faculty at UMKC and cannot currently a hold a majority-administrative position on campus.

## Nominations are now open for:

1. Chair-Elect of Faculty Senate (3-year term) (refer to <u>CRR 300.020.E.5.c</u> and <u>Faculty Senate website</u>)

This position serves on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and spends one year of service as Chair-Elect, one year as Chair of the Senate, and one year as Past Chair.

2. Intercampus Faculty Cabinet (IFC) position (3-year term) (refer to <u>CRR 20.100</u> and <u>IFC website</u>)

The IFC serves as a liaison between the President of the UM System, his staff, and the four campus faculties. It communicates to the President and his staff the views and concerns of the faculties. This position also serves as a member of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

- 4. University Faculty Committee on Tenure: Member (2-year term) (refer to <u>CRR 310.050.A)</u> This position serves at the pleasure of the President of the UM System and shall be a full professor.
  - 5. University Faculty Committee on Tenure: Alternate (2-year term) (refer to <u>CRR</u> 310.050.A)

This position serves at the pleasure of the President of the UM System and shall be a full professor.

Attached to this email is the UMKC Faculty Senate Standard Operating Procedures, which specify expected duties of the above officer and committee members.

Nominations and/or self-nominations may be sent to one of the officers below by email:

Anthony Shiu, Chair (shiua@umkc.edu)

Tom Mardikes, Past Chair (mardikest@umkc.edu)

Theresa Torres, Chair-Elect (torresth@umkc.edu)

Shannon Jackson, IFC Chair (jacksonsh@umkc.edu)

Thiagarajan Ganesh, IFC Member (ganesht@umkc.edu)

## Lee Linkins, NTT Faculty Representative (<u>likinsfl@umkc.edu</u>)

## **Calendar for the Election:**

March 11: Call for nominations

March 29 @ 5 p.m.: Nominations close and short bios are due.

April 2 @ 3 p.m.: Each candidate has the opportunity to speak (but is not required to) at the All-

Faculty Meeting.

April 2 @ 5 p.m.: Voting begins online via password protected data-collection system.

April 16 @ 12 p.m.: Voting closes.

April 16 @ 3 p.m.: Winners are announced and introduced at the Faculty Senate meeting.