UMKC Trustees Community Engagement Awards

Community Partnership Award 2016

The UMKC Alumni Association was awarded the UMKC Trustees Community Partnership Award for their ongoing work with the university. Representatives from the Alumni Association Governing Board who are pictured are: Diane Beatty, Vice President Marketing and Communications, Dr. Raymond Cattaneo, President, and Pat Macdonald, Immediate Past President.


The UMKC Trustees celebrate outstanding community engagement initiatives that strengthens the relationship between the community and UMKC. These awards are given to a program and/or project developed in collaboration by individuals at the university or in the community that helps further the goals of both organizations.


COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIP AWARD – Recognizes a business or organization that contributes to the university through programs and/or projects that help the university live up to its urban-serving mission of education and research.

Watch the Community Partnership Award video.


COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD – Recognizes university (Academic Units, Departments, Programs and Services) contributions to the community through innovative services, programs, and/or projects that strengthen the relationship between the university and the community ensuring that UMKC remains embedded in the fabric of the community.

Watch the Community Service Award video.


Community Service Award 2016

The UMKC Trustees Community Service Award was given to the Department of Architecture, Urban Planning + Design for its outstanding contributions to the community. Pictured from left to right are: Bill Bruning, Advisory Board; Ted Seligson, Faculty and Advisory Board; Jacob Wagner, Faculty; John Eck, Faculty; Josh Boehm, AUP+D Alumni; Michael Frisch, Faculty; Joy Swallow, Department Chair; Kathy Kelly, Advisory Board; and David Sosland, Advisory Board.


Community Service Award

Maria Gentry was awarded the inaugural UMKC Trustees Scholar of the Year Award. She was selected by her peers in the Trustee’s Scholars Program. In her nomination, she was cited for her dedication to her studies, the scholars program, and to service in the Kansas City community. Maria serves as chair of the Trustees’ Scholars Community Service Committee. She is a great reflection of the values and skills that the program strives to instill in all scholars. Pictured with Maria is Chandler McCray, Vice Chair of the Trustees’ Scholars Committee.







For more information, contact:
Dee Evans, Assistant Director of External Relations
University Advancement
Administrative Center – AC 310
5115 Oak
Kansas City, MO 64110
(816) 235-6010 office
(816) 235-5202 fax