Chancellor's Diversity Council

We are dedicated to cultivating an environment of civility and respect; providing a diverse learning environment; recruiting and retaining a diverse campus community; and promoting collective ownership of diversity initiatives across the campus.

Diversity at all levels is critical to UMKC’s mission of providing an environment defined by the belief that a multiplicity of values and beliefs, interests and experiences and intellectual and cultural viewpoints enrich learning and inform scholarship. Respect for the culture that makes UMKC a dynamic teaching, research and service environment is a basic institutional value. The Diversity Council reaches across the institution to promote access, respect, inclusiveness and community in all of UMKC’s working and learning environments.

View the UMKC Inclusive Excellence Plan

Council Roster


  • C. Mauli Agrawal, Chancellor
  • Makini King, Interim Vice Chancellor, Division of Diversity and Inclusion

Advisory and Alternates

  • Jennifer Lundgren. Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
  • Diane Filion, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Council Members

Academic Units

  • Richard Bigham, School of Dentistry
  • Stephen Dilks, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Sally Ellis Fletcher, School of Nursing and Health Studies
  • Maqual Graham, School of Pharmacy
  • Nancy Hoover, School of Graduate Studies
  • Caitlin Horsmon, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jake Marszalek, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Aidan Soder,  Conservatory
  • Tyler Smith, School of Medicine
  • Mikah Thompson, School of Law
  • Omiunota Ukpokodu, School of Education
  • Sidne G. Ward, Bloch School


  • K.C. Atchinson, Title IX/Affirmative Action
  • Brenda Bethman – The Women's Center
  • Michelle Cone, Parking and Transportation
  • Curt Crespino – External Relations and Constituent Engagement
  • Lona Davenport, Division of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Keichanda Dees-Burnett, Student Affairs
  • Yvonne Hood, Division of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Tracey Hughes, Libraries
  • Kimberly Johnson, Multicultural Student Affairs 
  • Scott Laurent – Student Disability Services 
  • Andre Logan – Office of the Chancellor
  • Jill Reyes, Human Resources
  • Doug Swink, Enrollment Management
  • Elora Thomas, Admissions
  • Tammy Welchert, Roo Advising
  • Kimali West, Strategic Marketing and Communications


  • John Cottrell, Health Sciences Diversity and Inclusion Council
  • Raquel McCommon, Health Sciences Diversity and Inclusion Council
  • Tim Nguyen, Student Body President

Affinity Groups

  • Matthew Edwards, Disability Alliance
  • Yvonne Hood, Mi Gente
  • Kimberly Johnson, Black and Roo Faculty/Staff Association
  • Adriana Paez, Antiracism White Allies and Advocates
  • Toya Like, Black and Roo Faculty/Staff Association
  • Alicen Lundgren, Antiracism White Allies and Advocates
  • Lori Sexton, Antiracism White Allies and Advocates
  • Michelle Smirnova, Antiracism White Allies and Advocates
  • Jen Santee, LGBTQIA Faculty/Staff Association


  • J.D. Rios, Hispanic Advisory Board
  • Tim Degnan, LGBTQIA Council