The person chosen will be a key member of Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Jenny Lundgren’s leadership team, responsible for the priorities and effectiveness of student services programs and departments in accordance with the UMKC strategic plan, the ROOStrong Student Success plan and the university’s mission. The vice provost will be responsible for maintaining a dynamic and highly engaging student experience that enhances educational opportunities, sense of belonging and success.

The university expects to have a new leader in place by August.

Co-chairs of the search committee are Keichanda Dees Burnett and Todd Wells, the co-interim vice provost for Student Affairs/dean of students. The other committee members are:

  • Chris Brown, professor and chair, Division of Counseling and Educational Psychology and former interim vice provost for Student Affairs /dean of students
  • Troy Lillebo, assistant vice chancellor, External Relations and former interim residential life director
  • Arnie Abels, director, Counseling, Health, Testing and Disability Services
  • Kristi Holsinger, senior vice provost for student success
  • Arzie Umali, senior assistant director, Women’s Center
  • Eric Gormly, assistant director for Veteran Student Support Services
  • Kristen Temple, director, Residential Life
  • Ivan Ramirez, coordinator, Avanzando Mentoring Program
  • Sally Ellis-Fletcher, associate dean for students, School of Nursing and Health Studies
  • Mahreen Ansari, Student Government Association president
  • Christian Anderaos, fitness and wellness assistant, Campus Recreation