The search committee chair is Viviana Grieco, associate professor and chair of UMKC Faculty Senate. The full roster of the search committee is below.

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Jenny Lundgren said others will have the opportunity to provide input during the campus interview segment of the search process. The plan is to fill this position by November.

“We are seeking a leader with an innovative spirit to further relationships with colleagues in all areas of the university and our community constituents. We see this as a critical role in providing an optimal environment for student growth, development and engagement, as well as advancement of faculty research and discovery,” Lundgren said. “I’d like to thank Cindy Thompson for serving as interim dean of libraries through the search.”

Other search committee members

Kun Cheng, Curators' Distinguished Professor, Pharmacy

Libby Hanssen, library information specialist senior (music/media)

John Herron, chief executive officer, Kansas City Public Libraries

Stuart Hinds, curator of Special Collections and Archives, librarian II

Tracey Hughes, teaching and learning librarian, librarian II

Kim Johnson, senior program manager, Multicultural Student Affairs

Tim Nguyen, president, UMKC Student Government Association

Julia Pluta, director of Research and Instructional Services

Emily Reeb, library information specialist (Student Supervisor)

Sandy Rodriguez, associate dean of Special Collections and Archives

Brent Sweany, head of Health Sciences Library Operations