Out List

There are multiple ways in which people exist in LGBTQIA+ communities. This list is just one way to find support on campus from faculty and staff who have demonstrated their commitment to ensuring the LGBTQIA+ community has a visible presence at UMKC.

Join the Out List

Sharing this information is one of the many ways we create an inclusive, welcoming campus for all our students, faculty, staff and visitors. Being visible may create opportunities for students and peers to identify mentors or a supportive person who can share in their experience as a member of the LGBTQIA+ community.

We also recognize that there are many people who cannot contribute to the creation of community as a part of the Out List because it may not be safe for them.

We ask allies to continue to challenge and grow in their allyship and pursue opportunities to demonstrate their allyship in supporting students and peers. We need your help in challenging heterosexist and cissexist attitudes, by continually supporting campus and community LGBTQIA+ policies, programs and events.

Sign Up for UMKC Out List

UMKC Faculty and Staff

Rachael Allen

Assistant Teaching Professor, School School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Email: allenrc@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2569
She/her/hers

Meghann Ashey

Graduate Assistant, Fraternity and Sorority Affairs
Email: mashey@mail.umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1407
She/her/hers

Diedre Ashley

Executive Assistant, School of Nursing and Health Studies
Email: ashleydl@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1723
She/her/hers
Portrait of Tom Bachmann

Tom Bachmann

HR Business Partner, Human Resources
Email: bachmannt@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5753
He/him/his
Portrait of Petra Bricker

Petra Bricker

Manager of Career Services, School of Medicine Student Affairs
Email: BrickerP@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1931
She/her/hers

Dylan Burd

Academic Advisor
Email: dylan.burd@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1148
He/him/his

Jennifer Parker Burrus

Senior Executive Assistant, Conservatory
Email: burrusjen@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2731
She/her/hers
Portrait of Joe Constantino

Joe Constantino

Director, External Relations and Divisional Strategic Initiatives
Email: constantinoj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5201
He/him/his
Portrait of Allan Davis

Allan Davis

Manager, Admissions and Recruitment, School of Medicine
Email: davisall@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5434
He/him/his
Nick Dean, shown from the shoulders up, wears a blue cowl neck sweater and glasses. He has a mustache and beard.

Nick Dean

Education Team Coordinator, School of Medicine
Email: deantn@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1817
He/they
Portrait of Teresa Dilley

Teresa Dilley

Assistant Teaching Professor, School of Education, Physical Education Exercise Science
Email: dilleyty@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2753
She/her/hers

Brian Ellison

Host and Contributor, KCUR
Email: brian@kcur.org
Phone Number: 816-235-5272
He/him/his

Jenni Frangos

Associate Professor, English Language and Literature
Email: frangosj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1136
She/her/hers
Portrait of Michael Frisch

Michael Frisch

Department Chair, Associate Professor of Urban Planning + Design
Email: frischm@umkc.edu
Phone Number: (816) 235-6369
He/him/his
Portrait of Stuart Hinds

Stuart Hinds

Curator of Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, Curator of the Gay and Lesbian Archive of Mid-America, LGBT Historian
Email: hindss@umkc.edu
Phone Number: (816) 235-5712
He/him/his
Portrait of Rachel  Hogan

Rachel Hogan

Course Coordinator, School of Medicine
Email: reh5dh@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1908
She/her/hers
Portrait of Teresa Huff-Pomstra

Teresa Huff-Pomstra

Staff Psychologist and Outreach Coordinator, UMKC Counseling Services
Email: huffpomstrat@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5248
She/her/hers
Portrait of Tracey Hughes

Tracey Hughes

Teaching and Learning Librarian, University Libraries
Email: hughest@umkc.edu
Phone Number: (816) 235-2064

She/her/hers

Portrait of Liz Johnson

Liz Johnson

Circulation Supervisor, Miller Nichols Library, Circulation Department
Email: johnsoneliz@umkc.edu
Phone Number: (816) 235-1527

She/her/hers

Bethany Jordan

Senior Academic Advisor, Roo Advising
Email: bethany.jordan@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2459

She/her/hers

Portrait of Julie Kohlhart

Julie Kohlhart

Director, Community Counseling and Assessment Services
Email: kohlhartj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2494

She/her/hers

Joey Lightner

Program Director of Bachelor of Science in Public Health, Assistant Professor, Nursing and Health Studies
Email: lightnerj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1703

He/him/his

Portrait of Troy Lillebo

Troy Lillebo

Assistant Vice Chancellor, External Relations
Email: lillebot@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-6585

He/him/his

Jess Magaña

Assistant Teaching Professor, Biologyces
Email: maganajl@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2282

They/them/theirs

Portrait of James Maiden

James Maiden

PMBA Student, Bloch School
Email: jlm7bf@umsystem.edu
He/him/his

Danielle Merrick

Assistant Clinical Professor and Director of Entrepreneurial Legal Services Clinic, School of Law
Email: merrickda@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-6424

She/her/hers

Portrait of Taylor Michl

Taylor Michl

Graduate Assistant, UMKC Women's Center
Email: umkc-womens-center@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1638

They/them/theirs

Portrait of Serra Morgan

Serra Morgan

System Support Administrator and IT Technician, IS Support Services
Email: srmorgan@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5737

She/her/hers

Portrait of Ashley Nance

Ashley Nance

Professional Development Manager, Bloch Career Center, Bloch School of Management
Email: amnance@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5529

She/her/hers

Portrait of Sam Nelson

Samuel Nelson

Graduate Research And Teaching Assistant, Infant and Child Cognition Lab
Email: scn8wf@mail.umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-6494

He/him/his

Portrait of Una Nowling

Una Nowling

Adjunct Professor, Civil and Mechanical Engineering
Email: nowlinguc@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5550

She/her/hers

Steven Onken

Chair and Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Email: onkens@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5791

He/him/his

Spencer Orr

Senior Academic Advisor, Roo Advising
Email: spencer.orr@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2959

He/him/his

Portrait of Josie Pennington

Josie Pennington

Campus Visit Coordinator, Office of Admissions
Email: jwpennington@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5053

She/her/hers

Portrait of Alexis Petri

Alexis Petri

Director of Faculty Supports, Office of the Provost
Email: petria@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5872

She/her/hers

Portrait of Emily Reeb

Emily Reeb

Library Information Specialist, Circulation Student Supervisor, University Libraries
Email: reebe@umkc.edu |
Phone Number: 816-235-5911

They/them/theirs

Jessie Riggs

Assistant Director of Facility Operations, Residential Life
Email: ksaragnese@mail.umkc.edu
Phone Number: riggsjd@umkc.edu

He/him/his

Portrait of Kelsey Saragnese

Kelsey Saragnese

Graduate student, School of Social Work
Email: ksaragnese@mail.umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1446

She/her/hers

Mark Sawkin

Clinical Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy
Email: sawkinm@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5498

He/him/his

Portrait of Julia Schafermeyer

Julia Schafermeyer

Adjunct Instructor, Counseling and Guidance
Email: schafermeyerj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2492

She/her/hers
They/them/theirs

Lori Sexton

Assistant Professor, Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Email: sextonl@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1136

She/her/hers

Portrait of Matthew Shiner

Matthew Shiner

Assistant Professor, Conservatory
Email: mwilliamshiner@umkc.edu
He/They
Portrait of Jess Smith

Jess Smith

Head Coach, Women's Soccer
Email: jessicasmith@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5309

She/her/hers

Portrait of Stephanie Spitz

Stephanie Spitz

Sr. Project Manager, The Collaborative/School of Nursing & Health Services
Email: steph.ann@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1649

She/her/hers

Portrait of Garth Tardy

Garth Tardy

Special Formats Cataloger, University Libraries
Email: tardyg@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5292
He/him/his

Adam Terry

Visiting Assistant Teaching Professor of Technical Direction, Conservatory
Email: terryam@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2858

He/him/his

Alberto Villamandos

Associate Professor, Spanish
Email: villamandosa@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2324

He/him/his

Shelby Webb

Senior Program Manager, School of Nursing and Health Studies
Email: webbsm@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1729

She/her/hers

Todd Wells

Director, Office of Student Involvement
Email: wellsta@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1407

He/him/his

Headshot of Kim West

Kim West

Chief Marketing Strategist
Email: westki@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1574
She/her/hers
Portrait of Theodore White

Theodore C. White

Dean and Marion Merrell Dow Professor, Biology
Email: whitetc@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2538
He/him/his
Portrait of Danielle Wilson

Danielle Wilson

Sr. Recruitment and Retention Specialist
Email: drwilson@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1473
She/her/hers