UMKC Pharmacy Students, Faculty Receive Top National Honors

Student chapter of American Pharmacists Association recognized for its excellence in community engagement initiatives

The UMKC School of Pharmacy continues to draw national recognition for its excellence in developing programs that engage, educate and improve the health of the community it serves.

The American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) selected its UMKC chapter from nearly 130 chapters across the country to receive the top national awards for the school’s local community engagement initiatives as well as a number of individual awards and recognitions, at a national meeting and exposition March 24-27 in Phoenix. 

The school received the organization’s Patient Care Award for most outstanding local initiatives, the Over The Counter Medicine Safety Award that focuses on safe medication practices and the Operation Diabetes Award for efforts to raise awareness and reduce complications associated with type 2 diabetes.

“Many chapters only focus on the national initiatives, but not our crew,” said faculty advisor Cameron Lindsey, Pharm.D.

The awards acknowledge the combined efforts of students at the UMKC School of Pharmacy’s three campuses in Kansas City, Columbia and Springfield. They recognize pharmacy programs that excel in creating opportunities for student participation while raising the standards of leadership, professionalism, membership, patient care and legislative advocacy among student pharmacists nationwide.

Chapters are evaluated based on originality of their programs, the number of chapter members involved, impact on the community, benefits to student pharmacists and collaboration with other healthcare organizations. 

UMKC received the Patient Care Award for student efforts in developing a ROOt 4 Health program that raises school-aged children’s awareness about healthy food and activity choices. The chapter also started Operation Self-Care, which strives to reduce the stigma around mental health and encourages good practices for wellness.

This was the second consecutive year that UMKC has received the No. 1 national award for Over The Counter Medicine Safety, based on students’ efforts to educate elementary, middle, and high school students about safe medication dosing and risks associated with over-the-counter medications. UMKC students also educate adults about safe dosing for children in their care. 

As part of Operation Diabetes, students at all three of the schools’ campuses screened patients in rural, suburban and urban venues, and referred those found at high risk for further care.

“Our students never cease to amaze me with their innovative ways to reach patients where they are,” Lindsey said. “They continually provide health education, screening and vaccinations to audiences across our state from many backgrounds. This is on top of their busy academic and work schedules. They are an example to all of us to leave the world better than they found it. I am excited to see that their hard work is being recognized on the national stage.”

Lindsey also was honored with the Linwood F. Tice Friend of APhA-ASP Award, which recognizes an individual whose long-term services and contributions have benefited the APhA–ASP and student pharmacists in general.

Russ Melchert, dean of the School of Pharmacy and current president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, commended the school’s APhA-ASP chapter faculty advisors: Lindsey, Jordan Rowe, Kathryn Holt, Angela Brownfield, Sarah Cox, Brandi Bowers and Lisa Cillessen.

“Students clearly followed the excellent examples set by their mentors serving as advisors and all of our faculty and staff who assisted them in getting where they are,” he said.

APhA-ASP Individual honors and recognitions:
  • Allison Eppenauer, third-year student on the Kansas City campus, received the national APhA Student Leadership Award and an APhA Foundation Scholarship. 
  • Hadia Malik, fourth-year student on the Kansas City campus, served on the APhA-ASP National Executive Committee as a member-at-large.
  • Karissa May, third-year student on the Kansas City campus, competed in the National Patient Counseling Competition.
  • Daphne Boggs, second-year student on the Springfield campus, served as chapter delegate to the APhA-ASP House of Delegates.
  • Alex Steury and Makaela David, second-year students on the Springfield campus, and Allison Eppenauer, third-year student on the Kansas City Campus, gave a platform presentation highlighting the chapter’s “Policy and Advocacy Literacy Certificate” that was a regional finalist in the Innovating Programming Award.
  • Megan Maetten, second-year student on the Columbia campus, presented a poster on “Evaluating student and graduate pharmacist perception of knowledge and confidence level when addressing topics related to the opioid epidemic at the UMKC School of Pharmacy.”
  • Faculty member Yifei Liu served as the APhA-APRS delegate to the APhA House of Delegates
  • Jordan Rowe presented a PharmTalk about “Lessons Learned Initiating an Interprofessional LGBTQ+ Clinic Providing Gender Affirming Care with a Safety-Net Health System.”


  • 2022 APhA-ASP Division A 2nd Runner-Up, National Chapter Achievement Award (Top 10 in the US)
  • 2021 APhA-ASP Division A National Chapter Achievement Award (Top 4 in the US)
  • 2020 APhA-ASP Chapter of the Year (No. 1 in the U.S.)
  • 2019 APhA-ASP 1st Runner Up in Chapter Achievement (Top 7 in the U.S.)
  • 2018 APhA-ASP Chapter of the Year (No. 1 in the U.S.)
  • 2017 APhA-ASP 1st Runner Up in Chapter Achievement (Top 7 in the U.S.)
  • 2016 APhA-ASP Chapter Achievement Award (Top 4 in the U.S.)
  • 2015 APhA-ASP Chapter Achievement Award (Top 4 in the U.S.)
  • 2014 APhA-ASP 1st Runner Up in Chapter Achievement (Top 7 in the U.S.)
  • 2013 APhA-ASP Chapter Achievement Award (Top 4 in the U.S.)
  • 2012 APhA-ASP Chapter of the Year (No. 1 in the U.S.)

Learn more about School of Pharmacy

Published: Mar 30, 2023

Top Stories