UMKC Staff Honored at Virtual Awards Ceremony

Annual event recognizes contributions
Roo Staff Awards

Excellence is the standard for UMKC staff, faculty and students.

More than 1,300 staff members demonstrate that excellence not only in customer service and quality of work, but in their personal ethics as well. The annual Staff Awards event gives our campus community a chance to recognize those who make a difference at UMKC.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s ceremony took place virtually on April 20 to celebrate dedication to student success, diversity and inclusion, engagement and outreach and research and discovery. The celebration also included milestone anniversaries, staff who were a part of the 2020 graduating class and staff who completed leadership development courses offered through the university.

 “All of (our staff) have persevered through long months of disruption and kept UMKC running smoothly despite great challenges and significant obstacles,” says UMKC Chancellor Mauli Agrawal. “That, too, is worthy of note. I am honored to celebrate you today.”

Congratulations to the 2021 Staff Awards recipients:

40-year milestone anniversary

Leisha Manning
Jill Reyes

2020 spring, summer and fall graduates

Benjamin Bissen
Taylor Blackmon
Jamisha Cooper
Mackenzie Doss
Jason Foster
Alissa Gratts
Scott Guerrero
Cory Kinder
Ellyce Loveless
Shana Malone
Courtney McCain
Alison Murdock
Johari Russell
Elizabeth Valle
Brian Westhues
Margaret Wight

Supervisory Development Series Graduates

Anne Allen
Maryjane Bruning
Erin Bumann
Brittany Bummer
Jessica Elam
Jeremy Ferguson
Collin Foster
Megan Frasher
Margo Gamache
Elizabeth Hanssen
Laura M. King
Laura W. King
Nancy Kunkel
Daniel McCarroll
Steve McDonald
Amy McKune
Zangi Miti
Shani Negron
Casey Ramsey
Adam Shoemaker
Kristina Shultz
Lindy Smith
Robin Sommer
Janey Stephens
Ashley Swanson-Hoye
Ashley Sylvara
Heidi Updike
Clay Vernon
Sherrie Watkins
Kaity Woody
Robert Wren

Administrative Leadership Development Program Graduates

Nathaniel Addington
Matthew Brown
Katherine Garey
Lisa Mallow
Rosa Nataraj
Mary Parsons
Jennifer Sackhoff
Tammy Welchert

Series on Leadership Essentials Graduates

Kenneth Bledsoe
Maria DeSimio
Connor Fender
Collin Foster
Megan Frasher
Jalonn Gordon
Elizabeth Hanssen
Meg Hauser
Jonathan Hern
Amelia Howard
Brent McCoy
Myisha Sims
Sandra Smith
Paul Wagner

Staff Council Dedication Award

Hannah Litwiller, senior student recruitment specialist, Office of Admissions

Living the Values Awards

Obie Austin, Student Health And Wellness
Michael Bongartz, Finance and Administration
Cindy Brown, School of Dentistry
Rosie Challacombe, College of Arts and Sciences
Sharon Colbert, School of Nursing and Health Studies
Clint Dominick, Intercollegiate Athletics
Makini King, Division of Diversity and Inclusion
Brad Martens, School of Education
Rachel McCommon, School of Medicine
Steve McDonald, School of Pharmacy
Zangi Miti, Strategic Marketing and Communications
Mary A. Matturro Morgan, Henry W. Bloch School of Management
Helen Perry, UMKC Conservatory
Emily Reeb, University Libraries
Ashley Swanson-Hoye, School of Law
Jodi Troup, Office of Research Services
Jane Vogl, School of Computing and Engineering
Abby Weiser, Office of Admissions
Asia Williams, School of Biological and Chemical Sciences

University Staff Awards

Excellence in Student Success – Marjory Eisenman, School of Computing and Engineering
Excellence in Research and Creative Works – Charles Brandon King, Institute for Human Development
Excellence in Engagement and Outreach – Martha McCabe, School of Computing and Engineering Excellence in Multiculturalism, Globalism, Diversity and Inclusion – Dylan Burd, College of Arts and Sciences
Excellence in Planning, Operations and Stewardship – Huan Ding, School of Computing and Engineering Chancellor’s Staff Award for Extraordinary Contributions – Anthony Maly, Office of Student Involvement
Rising Star Award – Margo Gamache, Honors College

Published: Apr 20, 2021

Top Stories