Congratulations to the Fall 2021 Honor Recipients

Eight students honored for academic excellence, leadership and service

Eight graduating seniors who have excelled in both academic achievement and service were named as a Dean of Students Honor Recipients this fall. This program recognizes the exceptional students who maintain high scholastic performance while actively participating in University and community leadership and service activities outside of the classroom. Students were nominated by faculty and staff across campus for the honor.

The Division of Student Affairs hosts a breakfast for the recipients to celebrate this distinguished award with their family and nominators.

For many of the students, it is one of the last events that give them an opportunity to reflect upon their career at UMKC before they cross the stage at Commencement. Fellow awardee Morgan Kensinger had this to say about what her experience as a Roo has taught her.

"As a medical student at UMKC, I have seen how imperative and remarkable human connection can be. Holding the hand of a fearful patient. Sharing a laugh with a classmate after a stressful exam. Listening to stories from my mentors. Giving a helping hand to a member of our KC community. Connection defines us," she said. "And while we are all here to celebrate the service and honorable acts that we have completed over the past several years, I think we can all agree that it’s not the act itself that binds us, but the stories and moments shared. I have been so incredibly privileged to learn alongside amazing students and work with truly resilient patients. It is my sincerest hope that I take the lessons learned and appreciation for human connection forward with me in my career."

Congratulations to the Fall 2021 Honor Recipients!

· Nichole Alexander, College of Arts and Sciences, nominated by Lynne O’Dell

· Courtney Dorris, School of Medicine, nominated by Brent McCoy

· Anya Joyo, School of Medicine, nominated by Krisana West

· Morgan Kensinger, School of Medicine, nominated by Muhammad Shah Miran

· Micah McGlaughlin, School of Biological and Chemical Sciences, nominated by Katie Garey

· Victoria Pavlik, School of Nursing and Health Studies, nominated by Matthew Chrisman

· Matthew Robinson, College of Arts and Sciences, nominated by Mathew Forstater

· Krithika Selva Rajoo, College of Arts and Sciences, nominated by Crystal Doss

Top Stories